China Tapes, The - Ernest Llewellyn and Donald Westlake in Shanghai 1980


Please Select Your Pricing Category

Total Running Time: 76 Minutes

Rare recordings of Australian and Chinese musicians playing Western classical music together at the end of China's Cultural Revolution. As such, they are a remarkable account of a very particular moment in history.

This CD records three concerts performed by Australians Ernest Llewellyn (violin) and Donald Westlake (clarinet), accompanied by Chinese musicians Ya Ching Zhu (piano) and Tien Yi Yen (clarinet) in Shanghai, in 1981.

1. Introduction (22 secs)

2. Bartok. Contrasts for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (18 mins 2 secs)

3. Milhaud. Suite for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (10 mins 25 secs)

4. Frank. Suite for Two Clarinets (4 mins 26 secs)

5. Mendelssohn. Concert Piece for Two Clarinets and Piano (7 mins 54 secs)

6. Brahms Sonata in A OP.100 for Violin and Piano (18 mins 57 secs)

7. Khachaturian. Trio for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (15 mins 36 secs)

The CD is ccompanied by a 16 page booklet, which includes biographical notes, recollections, photographs and diary entries written by Donald Westlake.

Produced by the National Film and Sound Archive, 2004.


Project Coordinator: Sally Jackson, NFSA

Featured People: Ernest Llewellyn, Donald Westlake, Ya Ching Zhu, Tien Yi Yen

Year: 2004

Running Time: 76 mins

SKU 201670900
Brand NFSA

Others Also Bought

More From This Category